Allow God to deal with injustice and persecution

Allow God to deal with injustice and persecution1Peter 2:20-25 “For what credit is it if, when you sin you are beaten for it, you endure? But if when you do good and suffer for it you endure, this is a gracious thing in the sight of God. For to this you have been called, because Christ also suffered for you, leaving you an example. so that you might follow in His steps. He committed no sin, neither was deceit found in His mouth. When He was reviled, He did not revile in return; when He suffered, He did not threaten, but continued entrusting Himself to Him who judges justly. He Himself bore our sins in His body on the tree, that we might die to sin and live to righteousness. By His wounds you have been healed. For you were straying like sheep but now have returned to the Shepherd and Overseer of your souls.”

How easy it is to lash out when we are treated unfairly. How easy it is to stand up for injustice and take matters into our own hands and be judge and jury. It’s natural to want to retaliate or defend ourselves when we feel we are being unfairly treated and dealt with, not to mention for other people as well. For this reason I found this passage in 1 Peter very challenging.

We seem to spend much time condemning people for injustice and sticking up for people’s rights. Don’t get me wrong we are to look out for those who are in need, but is it our role to take matters into our own hands all the time? The greatest injustice in all history was the persecution and execution of Jesus Christ. He was innocent, yet He was dealt with like an animal, like someone who is worth nothing. What did he do… He remained silent and trusted in His Father to see Him through it. He could have called an army of angels to His aid, but He chose to endure the persecution, trusting in His Father’s plans for Him and us (Matt 26:52-54). His focus was on the Scriptures being fulfilled. What if Jesus was saved by the people around Him, preventing Him from being put to death? At the time it would be seen as the just and right thing to do, however in reality it would be condemning the whole of humanity to an eternity without God!! How tragically ironic!!

We should not be so quick to deal out judgment and take matters into our own hands, but rather trust in God’s just and righteous plans. It takes great faith and self-control, especially when a huge injustice has been committed. Even though stopping the injustice, or judging others for it, may seem like the right thing to do, we have no idea what God’s larger, grander plan is. It may be through that injustice that He leads people into a saving relationship with Him. What an injustice to get in the way of that!

Does that mean we stand by and let persecution just happen to people… of course not! We must get along side the persecuted to help and strengthen them. We must reveal the hope Christ has given to us to those in need as well as practically helping them through their hardship. However we mustn’t be so quick to jump to conclusions in thinking we know what is best for them and go in guns blazing. We need to be discerning, trusting that God knows what’s best and that He will reveal to us how to support those in need more effectively and fruitfully.

3 responses to “Allow God to deal with injustice and persecution

  1. Thank you for this article. I, myself, am facing a great injustice which has been tearing me up inside for just about a year. My ex-husband literally pulled my 11 year old son out of my hands and refused to let him come back home to live with me (he had temporarily stayed with his dad to see how he liked it and instead decided that he wanted to come back home). As the legal custodian I immediately took the matter to court and my ex was ordered to return my son to me and to pay all my legal costs. A few days before my son was to return my ex appealed the decision. We went back to court to have my son returned in the interim but the second judge ordered that my son was to remain with his father until the appeal was heard (now a year later and an appeal date has still not been set).

    Now my ex is threatening me, through his lawyers, that if I don’t back down then they will take the matter further and attempt to have the costs, which were originally granted in my favour, over-turned and have my ex’s costs put on me as well as they felt that I acted unreasonably by going to court to get my son back.

    I was blessed by my lawyer who, to date, has not charged me a cent for his services. I’m simply paying the fees for the advocate which my lawyer used. My lawyer intended getting his fees back from the costs which I was awarded. If I decide to back down on demanding the fees, I will then, instead, pay my lawyer myself so that he doesn’t have to lose out.

    On top of everything my ex is threatening to sue me for maintenance. Since he and I divorced I struggled to support myself and my two children (my ex and I also have a daughter together). There were times when I would literally starve myself in order to ensure that our food lasted longer so that my children could eat. Now he’s hoping to take what little I have when I still have our daughter to support?

    I know that I could go to court and justify my actions, but I’m also feeling that perhaps I need to back down and let God deal out His justice instead. This ongoing court battle is hurting my children and perhaps, for their sake, I should rather back down and let God have His way.

    This is not an easy decision to make and I’m really praying for God’s guidance in this. As much as the thought irks me and the injustice of the situation makes my blood boil, I am willing to step aside and let God have His way. I know that He could fight this through me and the court case, but then people may think that I won simply because I had a strong case and not because of God. I just want to do whatever is right and whatever will bring God the glory.

  2. Hi Amanda,

    What an ordeal you are in. I cannot begin to understand how frustrating and scary it must be for you. Life throws at us so many challenges and just when you think the worst is behind, the next challenge comes along. Being a Christian and trusting in Jesus with our lives grants us a joy amidst the toughest of trials. When I say joy, I don’t necessarily mean jumping up and down in happiness, but rather a deep routed contentedness that God is in control of our lives and the world around us as crazy and painful as circumstances can be. What peace that can bring. What a blessing it is to be able to draw close to God and trust in Him. No one can ever take Him away from us, nothing in all creation!

    Amanda, may you continue to rest in the grace, love and sovereign power of our God. Through our faith in Jesus there is no condemnation before our God and an eternal peace that this world cannot steal from our soul (Rom 8:31-38). My prayers are with you.

  3. Amanda the Lord has heard your cry and is in total control. Please have faith that is the #1 thing you are required faith in the Blood of Jesus that the Lord has ALREADY worked it out in your favor for His glory. You are His child and He will do EVERYTHING good for you and your life and circumstance will be used for His glory and kingdom building. Hold on and and push through honey, you are there. Also speak into existence that you will have a restored strong Christ centered family, what you say will manifest and come into physical existence!

Leave a Reply

