Helpless

Normally I like to take an idea for a blog post and then do some research, slowly work my way through the ideas and the main themes until I hit on the essential hook for the blog and then build up the post from there.

Last week however my wife gave birth to our first child, a beautiful little girl named Lilian (Lily) who has very quickly become the majority stakeholder in our waking hours (which have experienced a 25% increase) so I’m going to shoot from the hip here and trust my fellow bloggers Don and Stu to call me out if I stumble into heresy 🙂

Not surprisingly I wanted to write briefly about this adorable little nightmare that has burst into our lives. First off, she’s great. Even though its taken a few days for it to sink in, it has finally hit me that I’m a dad and that this isn’t just an extended baby sitting job. We’re doing all the normal parent’s stuff where you try to identify whose facial traits she has ( a pointless exercise at this age), try to determine if she’s left handed (would be great for sport) and basically marvel at everything she does and congratulate her for pooping her pants (something I doubt will happen as she gets older….the congratulations, not the pooping).

While I haven’t had a lot of time for meditating on the Word as I normally would, I have had plenty of oppurtunity to marvel at God. The analogy that I’ve been struck by the most is how completely helpless Lily is and just how dependent she is on us. It makes me think about how completely dependent we are on God for all that we have. As we grow and learn how to provide the basic necessities for ourselves we can forget how much we still depend on Christ for all things. We start to believe we are in control of all that happens to us.

Lily is a while away from that mistake but her arrival makes me realise I need to repent of my self reliant independent attitudes and commit to teaching her about the sovereignty of God and always point her to Him as the source of all that is good.

I’m reminded of Ezra’s words in Nehemiah 9:6 “You are the LORD, you alone. You have made heaven, the heaven of heavens, with all their host, the earth and all that is on it, the seas and all that is in them; and you preserve all of them; and the host of heaven worships you.”

Lets remember that every breath we breath is a gift of the living God and that our ultimate salvation is only possible because of the work of Jesus Christ. Praise Him with great praise.

2 responses to “Helpless

  1. Congratulations James!

    That is fantastic news – hope Mum is recovering well.

    All our love at this special time,

    The Johnston’s

  2. Ahhh now life gets interesting 🙂 No matter how much you think you are prepared you will find there will be times you will be brought to your knees before God. In my short time as a parent (2years) I have come to appreciate more (and I’m sure a lot more in the future!) that having children forces us to be more selfless and reliant on God. It’s a great blessing, but it is TOUGH!!! The little progressive steps they make and the hugs from your little one however make it all worth it 🙂

Leave a Reply

