What Excuse Do You Use?

It is good for me that I was afflicted,
that I might learn your statutes.
The law of your mouth is better to me
than thousands of gold and silver pieces.

Your hands have made and fashioned me;
give me understanding that I may learn your commandments.
Those who fear you shall see me and rejoice,
because I have hoped in your word.
I know, O Lord, that your rules are righteous,
and that in faithfulness you have afflicted me.
Let your steadfast love comfort me
according to your promise to your servant.
Let your mercy come to me, that I may live;
for your law is my delight.

Psalms 119:71-77

 

Over the years, I’ve learned that it is often those most fortunate in life who complain the loudest about the ‘cross’ God has called them to bear. And certainly, there is a tendency with all of us to winge about the least significant things that disrupt our comfortable routines. It’s probably a form of attention seeking, but I doubt it ever bring glory to God.

I came across Johnny Farese on the web as I was viewing some Christian videos on YouTube. Though we might say he has every right to be bitter, by the grace of God, this man has overcome his tragic condition. His testimony is both inspiring and challenging and his life brings glory to God.

John Farese was born into a family of seven children with a condition known as Spinal Muscular Atrophy. He is one of three in his family with this condition. His sister, Tina, died at the age of eight. By God’s providence, His older brother, Bernie, aged fifty and John, aged 48, have far outlived the expected lifespan of people with this condition, who normally die at an early age through related complications.

Below are two videos about John and two links to websites that he has developed and maintains.

FARESE.COM

EMMANUEL BAPTIST CHURCH

2 responses to “What Excuse Do You Use?

  1. Soli Deo Gloria

    What sinful rebellious creatures we are from beginning to end.

    As children we grab for ourselves the biggest cakes, and the best of the sweets. As we get older we want the most prestigious uni, and the best paying job we can find. As parent we want more for our children, and send them to the most exclusive schools.

    Is it any wonder that the ‘health and wealth’ gospel so called is so popular. It seems to me that we always choose the best for ourselves on a very superficial basis. God’s choice for us is much more soundly based. He knows our hearts. He knows how corrupt we are, and in the end wherever He takes us, and however it may appear to ourselves or others, He knows His thoughts and designs for us are ONLY the very best.

    My old headmaster friend once said to me in a very difficult time: ‘The Lord must love you very much to allow you to share in His sufferings’. As a young believer, I didn’t understand what was going on. The bottom had dropped out of my world, and I could not see how I would recover. But in truth I learned that to receive a gift in your hands, you must empty your arms of all the rubbish you have greedily grabbed and set so much store by.

    God really does know best (as if we were in a position to think otherwise!). His way is perfect. We must trust him always, and praise him with bleeding wounds in the stinking prison as well as in our ‘worship’ meetings.

    Thanks for finding this Don.

  2. If we suffer with him, we shall also reign with him. The sufferings of this present world are not worthy to be compared to the glory that shall be revealed in us who are saved.

Leave a comment